Optometrist of the Year History

Each year the NOA presents an Optometrist of the Year Award to a member who has contributed his or her time and talent in the most outstanding manner for the betterment of the visual health and welfare of the public and to the profession of optometry during the past year.

2020 Andrew Bateman, Lincoln
2019 Teri Geist, Omaha
2018 Corey Langford, Omaha
2017 Chad Hudnall, Grand Island
2016 Christopher S. Wolfe, Omaha
2015 Christopher S. Wolfe, Omaha
2014 Scott Reins, Lincoln
2013 Robert Vandervort, Omaha
2012 Jeff Klein, Norfolk
2011 Jim Devine, Lincoln
2010 Steve Alcorn, Fremont
2009 Jerry Vaughan, Broken Bow
2008 Steve Wolfe, Omaha
2007 Craig McCormick, Holdrege
2006 Gary Pedersen, Grand Island
2005 Teri Geist, Omaha
2004 Ellen Weiss, Millard
2003 Steve Nicholson, Hastings
2002 Janet Fett, S. Sioux City
2001 Joe Shetler, Gordon
2000 Rick Bunger, Grand Island
1999 David Kincaid, South Sioux City
1998 Kim Baxter, North Platte
1997 Jim Devine, Lincoln
1996 Jim Kirchner, Lincoln
1995 Paul Salansky, Nebraska City
1994 Roger Filips, Hartington
1993 John Crotty, Auburn
1992 Richard Powell, Lincoln
1991 Jerry Vaughan, Broken Bow
1990 Wayne Quincy, Holdredge
1989 Dean Lauritzen, West Point
1988 Robert Livingston,  Nebraska City
1987 Robert Vandervort, Omaha
1986 Steve Gradowski, Omaha
1985 Bernard Mullen, McCook
1984 Dean Lauritzen, West Point
1983 Ed Schneider, Lincoln
1982 John McBride, Omaha
1981 William  Nolan, Omaha
1980 William Higgins, Lincoln
1979 Brad Williams, Lincoln
1978 Robert Sneller, Hastings
1977 Roger Dietz, Bellevue
1976 Paul Todd, Fremont
1975 Louis Amato, Plattsmouth
1974 Bill Koeber, Wayne
1973 Charles Gray, Columbus
1972 T.S. Heinecken, Beatrice
1971 Rudy Meyer, Lincoln
1970 Bernard Bauman, Alliance
1969 Bruce Ackerman, Fairbury
1968 Richard Macaluso, Fremont
1967 Bill Higgins, Lincoln
1966 Wade Nyquist, West Point
1965 Pat Ford, Scottsbluff